Creative Writing

Apr 11, 2014

Acclaimed Poet Li-Young Lee Reads, Announces NC State Poetry Winners

Critically acclaimed poet Li-Young Lee visited NC State to announce the winners of the NC State 2014 poetry contest and to read from his own award-winning work. Lee, who judged the 2014 NC State Poetry Contest, addressed a packed house in Caldwell Lounge Thursday evening.

Apr 4, 2014

Alum Returns to Coordinate NC Lit Fest

Jason Jefferies (MA, English, '08) is the programming coordinator for the NC Literary Festival taking place April 3 - 6 in and around NC State's Hunt Library. The Lit Fest theme is "the future of reading." And the future is looking very bright indeed. Visit the festival website to get all the details about this free event for all ages.

Mar 18, 2014

NC Literary Festival: Treats Galore for Lit Lovers

Make plans now to attend the NC Literary Festival April 3 - 6 in and around the Hunt Library on NC State's Centennial Campus. Hear your favorite authors from across the university and across the country read from their work. Discuss genres ranging from poetry to cooking, fiction and science fiction. Take a workshop in bookmaking, comics or pop-up books. Fun for all ages. And it's free!

Feb 7, 2014

2014 Statewide Poetry Contest Underway

Calling all poets: The 2014 Statewide Poetry Contest is accepting entries. Sponsored by the NC State University Creative Writing program, the contest is one of the largest literary competitions in the region. This year's guest judge is acclaimed poet Li-Young Lee.

Sep 26, 2013

2013 Short Story Competition Seeks Entries

The 2013 NC State Short Story Contest, sponsored by the NC State University Creative Writing Program, seeks entrants for one of the largest free literary competitions in the South. But don't dilly dally. The postmark deadline for all entries is October 21.

Aug 14, 2013

Wilton Barnhardt’s New Novel: Lookaway, Lookaway

Wilton Barnhardt, professor of creative writing, published his first novel when he was 29. After covering stock car racing for Sports Illustrated, he came to NC State as a faculty member in the Master of Fine Arts program when it enrolled its first students in 2005. Barnhardt models his novels after the classics of the 19th century in the tradition of Charles Dickens and Henry James. He’s written sprawling novels about New York, Hollywood and religion. His fourth novel, Lookaway, Lookaway, covers the South.

Apr 25, 2013

CHASS Fest

Students, faculty, and staff filled the patio outside Caldwell Hall for CHASS Fest — a multidisciplinary celebration organized by the Dean's Office, the CHASS Council, and CHASS students.

Mar 28, 2013

Exploring the Magic of ‘Life After Life’

After a 17 year hiatus, storytelling virtuoso Jill McCorkle has published her sixth novel, “Life After Life.” McCorkle, a professor in NC State’s Master of Fine Arts in Creative Writing program, says that the novel was "a long time coming."

Feb 1, 2013

Unleash Your Inner Poet

Calling all poets: The 2013 Statewide Poetry Contest is officially accepting entries. The contest, sponsored by the NC State University Creative Writing program, is the one of the largest literary competitions in the region. Deadline for submissions is March 1. Guest judge Michael Wiegers, executive editor of Copper Canyon Press, will announce the winners April 3.

Jan 3, 2013

Offhand hobbit comment inspires prankster philanthropy

Some of the most creative fundraising starts with an offhand remark, perhaps even a sarcastic jab, followed by a classic light bulb moment. For example, one person - for the sake of argument, let's say he's a distinguished professor at NC State - might comment via social media about "The Hobbit" that nobody could pay him enough money to see the movie. Bemused friends joke that the challenge should be posted on eBay or Kickstarter. That's when friends quickly organized an online drive to persuade Professor John Kessel, winner of a Nebula Award for science fiction/fantasy writing and a member of the CHASS Department of English, to turn the joke into a serious fundraiser.