College Celebrates Its Outstanding Faculty

NC State’s College of Humanities and Social Sciences honored our top scholars, advisers and teachers earlier this fall during a reception for new and returning faculty and staff. Here are some of the faculty who were recognized, and the awards they received:

Governor James E. Holshouser, Jr. Award for Excellence in Public Service, NC State nominee: Walt Wolfram (English)

NC State Outstanding Extension Service Award: Sarah Desmarais (psychology)

Chancellor’s Creating Community Awards: Mary Haskett, outstanding faculty award; College of Humanities and Social Sciences, outstanding college award.

O. Max Gardner Award, college nominee: Lori Foster (psychology)

Alexander Quarles Holladay Medal for Excellence, college nominee: Mary Haskett (psychology)

Board of Governors Outstanding Teaching Award, college awardee: John Carroll (philosophy)

NC State Faculty Scholars: Matt Booker (history); Jeni Burnette (psychology); Jing Feng (psychology); Paul Fyfe (English)

College Outstanding Social Scientist: Anne McLaughlin (psychology)

College Outstanding Humanist: John Wall (English)

Alumni Distinguished Graduate Professor : Tom Parker (history)

Alumni Distinguished Undergraduate Professor: John Morillo (English)

Alumni Association Outstanding Teachers: Bill Boettcher (political science); Shelley Garrigan (Spanish); Cat Warren (English). All three were inducted into the NC State Academy of Outstanding Teachers.

Outstanding Junior Faculty Award for Humanities: Levi McLaughlin (religious studies)

Outstanding Junior Faculty Award for Social Sciences: Laura Widman (psychology)

College Outstanding Lecturer: Gene Melton (English)

NC State New Adviser Award: Dana Kotter-Gruehn (psychology)

Outstanding Advising Awards: DeAnn DeFord Judge (sociology and anthropology); Carol Ann Lewald (interdisciplinary studies)

The college also recognized faculty who recently received prestigious awards from scholarly organizations, including:

  • Jade Berry-James, associate professor of public administration: Social Justice Curriculum Award from the Network of Schools of Public Policy, Affairs, and Administration
  • Paul Fyfe, associate professor of English: Frederick Burkhardt residential fellowship for recently tenured scholars
  • Verena Kasper-Marienberg, assistant professor of history: Fellow at the Israel Institute for Advanced Studies
  • Chad Ludington, teaching associate professor of history: Marie Curie Senior Research Fellow, a program of the European Council
  • Levi McLaughlin, associate professor of religion: Luce/ACLS Fellow in Religion, Journalism and International Affairs
  • Nick Robins, teaching professor of history: Fulbright Specialist, National University of Huancavelica (Juan Kava Lika), PeruBrent Sirota, associate professor of history: NEH Long-term Fellowship, Massachusetts Historical Society
  • Jason Swarts, professor of English: Fellow, Association of Teachers of Technical Writing

Leave a Response

Your email address will not be published. All fields are required.