Award-Winning Authors Headline Fall Reading Series

NC State’s Master of Fine Arts in Creative Writing program will welcome three accomplished authors this fall as part of its popular Literary Reading Series.

The free events allow the public to meet and engage with first-rate writers who read and discuss their work. Each reading is scheduled for 7:30 p.m. in NC State’s Caldwell Hall Lounge and followed by a book signing.  

Join us for the Nov. 16 reading with author Percival Everett as we also announce the winners of the 2016 NC State Fiction Contest. For more information about the contest, visit

Free parking is available in the North Hall Lot on Hillsborough Street.

Sept. 14: Kaitlyn Greenidge (fiction)

Award-Winning Authors Headline Fall Reading Series

Kaitlyn Greenidge. Source: Algonquin Books.

Author of We Love You, Charlie Freeman, Kaitlyn Greenidge received her MFA from Hunter College, where she studied with Nathan Englander and Peter Carey, and was Colson Whitehead’s writing assistant as part of the Hertog Research Fellowship. Greenidge was the recipient of the Bernard Cohen Short Story Prize. She was a Bread Loaf scholar, a Lower Manhattan Cultural Council Workspace artist-in-residence, and a Johnson State College visiting emerging writer. Her work has appeared in The Believer, The Feminist Wire, At Length, Fortnight Journal, Green Mountains Review, Afrobeat JournalTottenville Review and American Short Fiction. Originally from Boston, she now lives in Brooklyn, New York.

Oct. 20: Stephen Dunn (poetry)

Award-Winning Authors Headline Fall Reading Series

Stephen Dunn. Credit: Andrea Dunn.

Stephen Dunn is the author of 16 books, including Different Hours, which won the 2001 Pulitzer Prize for poetry. Since 1974, he has taught at Stockton University of New Jersey, where he is Distinguished Professor of Creative Writing. He’s also been a visiting professor at The University of Washington, New York University, Columbia University and The University of Michigan. He has read his poetry at The Library of Congress, and at many universities and colleges throughout the country. In addition to his books, his work has appeared in The Atlantic, The Nation, The New Republic, The New Yorker, The Georgia Review, and The American Poetry Review.

Award-Winning Authors Headline Fall Reading Series

Percival Everett. Source: Graywolf Press.

Nov. 16: Percival Everett (2016 NC State Fiction Contest judge) and 2016 NC State Fiction Contest Awards

Percival Everett is Distinguished Professor of English at the University of Southern California and the author of nearly 30 books, including Percival Everett by Virgil Russell, Assumption, Erasure, I Am Not Sidney Poitier, and Glyph. He is the recipient of the Academy Award from the American Academy of Arts and Letters, the Hurston/Wright Legacy Award, the Believer Book Award, and the 2006 PEN Center USA Award for Fiction. He has fly fished the west for more than 30 years. He lives in Los Angeles.

Leave a Response

Your email address will not be published. All fields are required.